Anniversary of Wes Craven’s Death

So, it’s been a year since Wes Craven passed away and honestly it still very much upsets me. Obviously he has had some flops, but also some great successes and he was highly influential in the horror genre. He was specifically very influential for me in getting me into horror movies. I was obsessed with Scream as a teenager, I can recite it word for word and it’s still one of my favorite films of all time. I decided to have a marathon of Wes Craven movies today and figured I would share the list. I’m sticking with movies he directed and the ones that were the most well known (be they known for their brilliance like Nightmare, or known for their bizarre production drama like Cursed). It’s also partially based on what I have access to, so either what I have on DVD or streaming and I will list where these films are available. And of course there are some that are terrible but just personal favorites- I quite love watching horrible movies. I’m also going to include two documentaries about horror movies that include some looks into his influence and filmmaking. Here we go:

The Last House on the Left (1972)

The Hills Have Eyes (1977)

-Hulu, Xfinity

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

-Xfinity

The Serpent and the Rainbow (1988)

-Xfinity

The People Under the Stairs (1991)

-Xfinity

Wes Craven’s New Nightmare (1994)

-Netflix

Scream (1996)

-Xfinity

Scream 2 (1997)

-Netflix, Xfinity

Wishmaster (1997)

-Hulu, Xfinity

Scream 3 (2000)

Cursed (2005)

-Xfinity

Paris, je t’aime (2006)

-Hulu, Xfinity

Scream 4 (2011) 

-Xfinity

Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy (2010)

-Netflix

Nightmares in Red, White and Blue (2009)

-Netflix

Leave a Reply

