Top 10 Summer Movies

As summer enters it’s final stretch, I figure there’s no better way to celebrate than by ranking the top ten most summery summer movies that I’ve reviewed so far. There’s a little something for everyone on this list, some horror, some coming of age, some comedies. I’ll link to my old reviews for more details about why these movies give me summer vibes. Without further adieu, let’s begin…

10. Stage Fright (2014)

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 12.12.55 AM

This movie is so bizarre which I think is what makes it so enjoyable. It’s a musical slasher that takes place at a summer camp for theater kids. I did theater growing up so this theater kid crowd is very familiar and nostalgic for me. I mean honestly, theater kids kind of suck, but they put on a hell of a show. This movie has a decent amount of gore and while the songs aren’t anything fabulous, this is such a strange movie that it’s definitely worth a watch. Plus, the summer camp vibes will have you packing your bags.

9. The Shallows (2016)

The Shallows

So there’s two shark movies on this list, and one of them is this fun little thriller. I was pretty excited to see this movie, because I love shark movies, and there hadn’t been a non-campy shark movie in a while. I wasn’t disappointed. This movie is packed with summer energy and summer thrills. When Blake Lively get stuck on a rock while surfing in Mexico, she has to try to outsmart a shark that has it in for her. Stay out of the water, friends.

8. I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)

I Know What You Did Last Summer

What a 90’s summer gem. This movie is pretty bad, but oh so good. It follows four teenagers as they’re ending their small town summer, getting ready to leave for college. A night of partying leads to a terrible accident which they decide to conceal, rather then report to the police. A year later they are stalked by someone who knows about their dark past. This is a classic summer horror film that you can’t miss if you want to get in a summer mood.

7. The Parent Trap (1998)

The Parent Trap

I think every kid who sees this movie spends a few good years just waiting to meet their twin. This movie follows twins who are separated at birth and learn about each other when they attend the same summer camp. They make a plan to try to get to know the other parent and switch places. This movie is classic summer fun, lots of great camp scenes. However, the reason this isn’t higher on the list is because only the first half of the film takes place at the summer camp.

6. High School Musical 2 (2007)

HSM2

My favorite art film. This movie is weird and flashy and I honestly can’t believe it’s 10 years old. Even as a young teen I knew this movie was terrible, but it was so colorful and energetic it made me wish I was older so I could party with friends all summer. This film follows the wildcats as they work their summer jobs. There’s music, a pool, a talent show, what more could you ask for? Oh, and you may be wondering, is there soul searching and emotional drama? You can bet on it.

5. Jaws (1975)

Jaws

I mean… come on, what other shark movie could possibly top this list. This is the pinnacle of all shark movies, it will never be surpassed. If you don’t watch this one every summer, only to spend the next few months double checking bodies of water before swimming, what are you even doing? I wish I could put this higher up on the list, but as you’ll see, I got a thing for summer camps and 90’s nostalgia.

4. The Burning (1981)

The Burning

Ahh, my favorite summer camp slasher, far superior to Friday the 13th (fight me). This movie has gore, horny camp counselors, and a great killer. Also some great shots of the summer camp you’ve never been to but wish you had. If you are going to watch a summer horror movie, I beg of you, please watch this one. I mean, watch Friday the 13th too, but this one is better.

3. The To Do List (2013)

The To Do List

I don’t know exactly when or why this movie became a summer staple for me, but it has. I don’t think the movie is great, like objectively, I think it’s just okay. But, I’m gonna be honest, I fucking love it. I think it has good performances, and aesthetically is SCREAMS summer. It’s funny, a little raunchy, but a really fun lighthearted coming of age movie. Normally I kind of roll my eyes at “sex before college” movies but I just love this one for some reason.

2. The Sandlot (1993)

The Sandlot

Do I need to explain why this is here? I mean I should, I’m not that lazy, but I mean, this is the pinnacle of coming of age summer adventure movies. It a similar vein of Stand By Me, but because I’m a 90’s kid this one resonates with me more. This story follows a group of boys who love baseball and spend all summer playing together. This movie will make you long for simpler times and simpler summers, a must watch.

1.Wet Hot American Summer (2001)

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 7.48.35 PM

I love this movie, I can’t believe that it didn’t do better when it was released. It has so many actors whose careers have since exploded and is full of 80’s charm. This movie satirizes summer camp movies so well that it’s probably one of the best of the genre. It’s hilarious and fun and definitely my favorite summer movie of all time.

What do you think of the list? Let me know some of your favorite summer movies!

Leave a Reply

